Texans for Fiscal Responsibility makes endorsements in advance of school and municipal elections, partisan primaries and the general election. Here you will find our most recent endorsements.

Texans for Fiscal Responsibility will make endorsements during the 2018 general election. We do not always endorse a candidate in every race where one is sought.

To be considered for an endorsement, candidates must have applied for an interview by submitting a completed questionnaire.

Endorsements are not made in every race and do not constitute a criticism of other candidates running. Endorsements will only be made in contested races.

Our endorsement of a candidate is based on our belief that the candidate will adhere to the best practices and highest principles of ethics, limited government, and stewardship of the taxpayers’ resources.


Looking for local endorsement information? Click here.

November 2018 Endorsements

Statewide Endorsements

Greg AbbottGovernor
Dan PatrickLieutenant Governor
Ken PaxtonTexas Attorney General
Glenn HegarTexas Comptroller
Sid MillerAgriculture Commissioner
Christi CraddickRailroad Commissioner
Jimmy BlacklockTexas Supreme Court, Place 2
John DevineTexas Supreme Court, Place 4
Jeff BrownTexas Supreme Court, Place 6
Michelle SlaughterTexas Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8

Federal Endorsements

Ted CruzU.S. Senate
Louie Gohmert1
Van Taylor3
Ron Wright6
Randy Weber14
Chip Roy21

Texas Senate Endorsements

Bob Hall2
Charles Schwertner5
Paul Bettencourt7
Angela Paxton8
Kelly Hancock9
Konni Burton10
Don Huffines16
Joan Huffman17
Pat Fallon30

Texas House Endorsements

Cole Hefner5
Matt Schaefer6
Steve Toth15
Mayes Middleton23
Mike Lang60
Matt Shaheen66
Jeff Leach67
Kyle Biedermann73
Jonathan Stickland92
Matt Krause93
Tony Tinderholt94
Bill Zedler96
Jared Patterson106
Deanna Metzger107
Jonathan Boos113
Lisa Luby Ryan114
Matt Rinaldi115
Briscoe Cain128
Valoree Swanson150

Judicial Endorsements

CandidateOffice Sought
Michael Massengale1st Court of Appeals, Place 8
Jennifer Caughey1st Court of Appeals, Place 9
Dabney Bassel2nd Court of Appeals, Place 5
Mike Toth3rd Court of Appeals, Place 6
John Browning5th Court of Appeals, Place 11
Jim Pikl5th Court of Appeals, Place 12
Ernie Aliseda13th Court of Appeals, Chief Justice
Jaime Tijerina13th Court of Appeals, Place 4
Brett Busby14th Court of Appeals, Place 3
Jennifer Edgeworth219th District Court
Angelina Gooden280th District Court
Kristin Bays284th District Court
Alex Kim323rd District Court
Erin SwansonHarris County Civil Court at Law #2
John WakefieldHarris County Criminal Court at Law #9

Local Endorsements

Chris HillCollinCounty Judge
Cheryl WilliamsCollinPrecinct 2
Darrell HaleCollinPrecinct 3
J.J. KochDallasDistrict 2
Mark KeoughMontgomeryCounty Judge